Governor Awiti unveils list of Cabinet nominees

Governor Cyprian Awiti with his deputy Hamilton Orata and County Secretary at the County headquaters.
Homa Bay County Governor Cyprian Awiti and his deputy Hamilton Orata have unveiled their cabinet nominees.
The County Executive Committee was unveiled at the County headquaters, witnessed by the County Secretary, members of the press and the public.
The ten member cabinet committee representing the ten ministries include;
1. Finance, economic planning and service delivery (
Mr. Nicholas Koriko)
2. Health Services (Prof. Richard OtienoMuga)
3. Roads, public works and transport ( Dr. David Okeyo)
4. Trade, industrialization, cooperatives and enterprise development (Mr. CarelusAdemba)
5. Energy and mining (Mr. Alfonse Wera)
6. Lands, housing, urban development and physical planning (Mrs. Beatrice AkinyiOyomo)
7. Tourism, sports, gender, culture and social services ( MrsRoselineAnyangoOdhiambo)
8. Education and ICT (Mrs. Beatrice Atieno Asiago)
9. Agriculture, livestock, fisheries and food security ( Mr. AgukoJuma)
10. Water, environment and natural resources (Mr. Dickson OrukoNyawinda)
While addressing the public, the County boss thanked them for being patient despite other counties having already named their cabinet.
“My cabinet nominees consists men and women of great integrity and professionalism who will diligently work and deliver services to the residents in the spirit and letter of devolution,” said Awiti.
He told the public that his nominees meet the constitutional threshold of 1/3 representation and equitable resource distribution.
“My cabinet has been drawn from all the eight sub counties of Homabay County and not a single one is left out,” he added.
Governor Awiti was confident that the team would steer development in the county a notch higher after having deep and wide consultations with the elected leaders of Homa Bay and stakeholders before nominating his cabinet.
Pursuant to section 35 of the County Government Act 2012, The Governor is required to nominate suitable qualified candidates as County Executive Committee members to head the ministries in service delivery to the people.
By Okuku and Homa Bay county media.