Safaricom Foundation’s Ndoto Zetu Equips Schools Across the Country.


Safaricom Foundation has this week donated furniture worth KES 6.7 million to over thirty schools in the country through its Ndoto Zetu initiative.

The schools received new desks and chairs to help with social distancing and water tanks to boost hygiene. The items will support schools that lack basic facilities with reports estimating that one out of every five schools lack learning infrastructure and materials such as desks.

“The education sector is one of the areas that has been severely affected by COVID-19. Despite the new adjustments to virtual learning, some students have been left out due to lack of resources. One of our objectives as a foundation is to promote inclusive and equitable quality education for Kenyans. That is why we have supported schools as part of the second phase of our Ndoto Zetu initiative especially during this time as they gradually re-open”, said Joseph Ogutu, Chairman, Safaricom Foundation.

Some of the schools that benefited include Boyani West Primary School, Kwale County, Mwihoko Primary and Secondary Schools in Laikipia County, Raise Education Centre, Mombasa County, Nthingini Secondary School  Mwea, Embu County, Kipasi Primary School in Bondo, Siaya  and Irumbi Primary School, Vihiga County and Town Secondary School, Kilifi County.

Through the Ndoto Zetu initiative, Safaricom Foundation asks individual Kenyans to share their dreams and aspirations that will have a positive impact on their communities. During the first phase of the initiative last year, the foundation implemented over 300 projects across 40 counties at the cost of KES 30 Million reaching more than 50,000 people.

List of Beneficiaries

  1. Mafufuni Primary School, Kwale County
  2. Boyani West Primary School, Kwale County
  3. Adult concern -Ngong Open Learning Secondary School, Ngong Town
  4. Ngaru Primary School, in Othaya Nyeri County
  5. Maragima Primary School, in State Lounge Nyeri County
  6. Mwihoko Primary and Secondary Schools, Laikipia County
  7. Gatekene Primary School, Meru County
  8. Mathithi and Kiao Centre, in Mujwa, Meru County
  9. Muraru Primary School, Embu County
  10. Nthingini Secondary School Mwea, Embu County
  11. Galona Primary School, Majengo Vihiga County
  12. Kabazi Secondary School, Nakuru County
  13. AK Magugu Primary School Kiambu town
  14. Raise Education Centre, Mombasa County
  15. Mwangatini Primary School, Kilifi County
  16. Loonkitok Early Childhood Development in Itlal 10km to Tsavo West, Kajiado County
  17. Mwingoni Mixed Day School in Kenya Israel, Machakos County
  18. Abidha Primary School in Bondo, Siaya County
  19. Abimbo Primary School in Bondo, Siaya County
  20. Kipasi Primary School in Bondo, Siaya 
  21. Irumbi Primary School, in Bunyore  Vihiga County
  22. St. John Cheptech Secondary School, Kaimosi Vihiga County
  23. to Watoto Wenye Nguvu I.O.C IN Thika, Kiambu County
  24. Toll Model School in Thika
  25. Eube Education Centre in Ruiru, Kiambu County
  26. Town Secondary School, Kilifi County
  27. Kabobo Primary in Kabene 20km from Eldoret Town, Uasin Gishu County
  28. Ogilgei Community Based organization in Njoro, Nakuru County 
  29. Kangui Primary School in Kandara Gasharage shopping Centre Muranga County
  30. Bishop Ngori Githuaini Secondary School Sagana Karema, Kirinyaga County
  31. Thumaita West Primary School in Kagio Kirinyaga County
  32. Kilifi Watoto Centre, Vitengeni in Kilifi County
  33. Madunguni Secondary School, Kilifi County
  34. Kamuchege Primary School, Kiambu County
  35. Karatina School for the mentally Challenged Primary School,Kiambu County
  36. Mwambani Primary School, Tezo in Kilifi County
  37. Borabora Primary School, Kilifi County