Big Wins for Kenya at the AFRIMMA awards

he won the best rap in AFRIMA

Popular rapper Khaligraph Jones is the winner of the Best Rap Act in the 2018 African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) that went down over the weekend in Dallas, Texas.

The “Mazishi” hitmaker edged out a bevy of rappers to bag the award, among them other stars that had been nominated in his category among them Olamide, Zoro and Phyno from Nigeria, Sarkodie from Ghana, Namibia’s Tha Dogg, South Africa’s Casper Nyovest, Shane Eag and Nasty C and MHD from Guinea.

Gospel artiste Papa Dennis won Best Gospel Artist of the year while Ugandan Eddy Kenzo emerged the winner, East African Artiste of the Year flooring Diamond Platnumz and Alikiba among others.

Uganda’s took home African Newcomer artist of the year award.

Yemi Alade was crowned the best female artist of the year as Wizkid scooped the Song of the year Award through his song Soco.

Nigeria singer Mr. Flavour took home the Humanitarian Award as Congo’s Fally Ipupa bagged two awards; Leadership in Music Award and Artist of the Year.

According to the award show, “AFRIMMA is the sole award ceremony in the diaspora that caters to all musical genres.”