Man City crowned Premier League champions.


Manchester City celebrated their third consecutive Premier League title on Sunday as a much-changed side was still good enough to beat Chelsea 1-0 at the Etihad.

Pep Guardiola’s men secured a fifth title in six seasons on Saturday when second-placed Arsenal were beaten 1-0 at Nottingham Forest.

After being defeated 1-0 on Saturday, the Gunners, who had been in first place for the majority of the season, are now four points behind City with just one game remaining.

Julian Alvarez, who has been Erling Haaland’s backup for the majority of the season, scored his 17th goal of the year to extend the English champions’ unbeaten streak across all competitions to 24 games, demonstrating the depth of City’s roster.

Guardiola made nine changes in all from the side that thrashed Real Madrid 4-0 in midweek.

The youthful hosts were still too sharp for the beleaguered visitors early on and took the lead on 12 minutes.

Raheem Sterling should have marked his return to the Etihad with at least one goal but was denied by a fine save by Stefan Ortega when one-on-one with the German goalkeeper.

Man City are only the fifth club to win three successive top-flight titles in England, following Huddersfield Town (1924-26), Arsenal (1933-35), Liverpool (1982-84) and Manchester United, who did it twice under Sir Alex Ferguson (1999-2001 and 2007-09).