Abdi Guyo reinstated as Jubilee makes changes to Nairobi County Assembly leadership

Jubilee SG Raphael Tuju and Nairobi County Assembly Majority Leader Abdi Guyo. PHOTOS | FILE

Abdi Guyo the Matopeni Ward MCA has been reinstated as the Nairobi County Assembly Majority Leader after six months in the cold following his removal last year.

Jubilee Secretary General Raphael Tuju, in a letter dated April 16, announced Guyo’s appointment among a raft of new changes to the party’s leadership in the House.

“On November 12, 2019 we wrote to the speaker of the City County Assembly setting up an interim house leadership that has served in the Assembly from the date of the said letter to date,” wrote Tuju.

“The party has held various consultations on this matter.”

As Guyo takes back his seat as the Majority Leader, Peter Wanyoike Gitau (Dandora Area) steps in as his deputy with Paul Kiguathi Kados (Mihango) taking over as Majority Party Chief Whip and Waithera Chege (Nairobi South) as Majority Party Deputy Whip.

“The leadership is expected to adhere to the laid down communication channels at Jubilee Party and uphold the tenets of house leadership set out in the Jubilee Party Constitution and the Laws of Kenya,” Tuju added.

The Jubilee SG hence urged the Mr. Kados, the Majority Whip designate, to notify Speaker Beatrice Elachi of the changes in accordance with the Nairobi City County Assembly Standing Orders of 2017.