List of people exempted from 10-hour curfew


President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced a daily curfew from 7 pm to 5 am effective Friday to contain the spread of the highly-contagious coronavirus.

Already, 28 people have tested positive for the virus in Kenya. “All movement by persons not authorised to do so or not being medical professionals, health workers, critical and essential services providers are prohibited between those hours,” Uhuru Kenyatta said.

President Uhuru held that the measure will help keep Kenya “ahead of the curve” in containing the virus spread.

He added that the Government, both at the National and County levels, were implementing strict evaluation and monitoring protocol, “designed to proactively seek out and test persons who may be carriers of this virus.”

“Defeating this pandemic demands cooperation, collaboration and common action. More than that, it calls for unity and shared understanding, strict adherence to the protocols issued by the Ministry of Health and other relevant agencies, and the adoption by every person of measures that will contain the spread of the virus,” he said.

Here is the full list of the providers of critical and essential services who are exempted from the curfew:

  1. Medical Professionals & Health Workers
  2. National Security, Administration and Coordination Officers
  3. Public Health and Sanitation officers in the County Governments
  4. Licensed Pharmacies and Drug Stores
  5. Licensed Broadcasters and Media Houses
  6. Kenya Power & Lightening Company Limited
  7. Food Dealers, Distributors, Wholesalers & Transporters of Farm Produce
  8. Licensed Supermarkets, Mini-Markets and Hypermarkets
  9. Licensed Distributors and Retailers of Petroleum and Oil Products and Lubricants
  10. Licensed Telecommunication Operators and Service Providers
  11. Licensed Banks, Financial Institutions and Payment Financial Services
  12. Fire Brigade and other Emergency Response Services
  13.  Licensed security firms