The 2023 Nairobi Marathon Relay will be held on the 6th of May 2023, at the Marist University grounds in Karen, Nairobi.

The event dubbed “The most electrifying sporting event” which is in its third edition has attracted a record 75 teams, comprising of 450 runners. The event is an exciting relay format where teams of six runners compete, with each runner covering seven kilometers to complete a full marathon of 42.2 kms.

Speaking during the announcement, David Thuo the founder of the event said;

“We are excited to host the third edition of “The Nairobi Marathon relay on the 6th of May 2023, at the Marist University grounds, Karen. This year we have managed to register 75 teams, up from the 40 that participated in the second edition in 2022, and the 22 teams that ran in the first edition in 2021.”

2022 Nairbi Relay Marathon Overall winners Lady Birds.

“The relays theme revolves around teamwork and each year we have a theme to the run. This year’s theme is ‘Common People achieving uncommon results,’ This is because each time runners have come together in the relay, they have always posted times in their combined 42kms that are way faster than they would ever dream of running individually.” He added.

The Nairobi Marathon Relay which mainly attracts recreational, amateur, and semi-professional runners creates a unique experience of running a full marathon in teams, offering both excitement and an increased sense of competition, with the baton exchange point providing the most excitement.

The event is also an initiative in support of the Nairobi Support Services, an institution that helps with the rehabilitation of children with various disabilities.

Among the runners expected to take on the 2023 Nairobi Marathon relay is multiple Paralympic gold medalist and former full and half marathon world record holder, Henry Wanyoike and his guide Paul Wanyoike who will be running for team Jelani. The eldest entry in the field is 73 years old Surinder Singh, who will be participating in his third event, for Team Jelani.

The competition for the overall title is expected to be headlined by last year’s runners’ up in the ladies’ category, Dash Dolls, defending men’s winners Roaring Simbas and runners-up Dathon Ace racing team. Others include Tipwa Tipwa, Early Birds, Zep-Re Team, Sole Sisters Inc, Team Standard Chartered, Team Kobe, Rocket Queens, The Powerpuff Gang, and Team IMG.

The event is expected to attract an increased number of spectators and sponsors. So far, the event has managed to attract sponsorship from SBM Bank, with more corporates expected to come on board in the near future.

Apart from the race, spectators can expect lots of entertainment, food, and fun activities throughout the day at the event’s village.