Betika, the leading betting firm hosted a colourful National Super league awards ceremony at the Serena hotel on Wednesday September 15th. The first ever awards ceremony for the second division league saw over 11 category winners receive awards and cash prices as a token from the firm.

In November 2019, Betika announced a Ksh 94M partnership with the Football Kenya
Federation to sponsor the National Super League (NSL) in a 3-year partnership deal. The
league which is now known as Betika National Super League comprises of 20 Kenyan
grassroot football teams competing for the coveted winners’ cup during the September
2019 to May 2022 season.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Mr Nicholas Mruttu, the firm’s Chief Executive Officer
said,“Under the sponsorship, each of the 20 competing teams get Ksh 750,000 per annum
and in-kind provision of kits, balls, nets and other sports equipment. Through the
sponsorship, Betika is the sole and official grassroots football partner for FKF with Ksh
45M going directly to financing grassroot football activities across the 47 counties. Betika
as a firm felt that the sponsorship without recognition will not motivate the teams enough
therefore, we decided to start the Betika National Super league awards. Through the
sponsorship, we have an approximate of 50 players moving from BNSL to KPL every
season, a testament to the league’s improving talent. Through the grassroot community
tournaments, we have created avenues for mashinani teams to get scouted and exposure
to the BNSL league. These are a few reasons that confirms our commitment to investing
in the community through sports, arts and culture with football being a key focus.
Mr Mruttu also acknowledged Talanta FC and Vihiga Bullets who have been promoted to
the Kenya Premier League after the 2020/2021 season.

FKF CEO, Mr Barry Otieno, lauded Betika for coming on board and starting the award
ceremony, “We mark yet another milestone through the Betika and NSL partnership for
our clubs which we believe will go a long way towards not only motivating the clubs’ but
also the players and the grassroot footballers to know that football pays, the love of the
game pays more”.He also noted that there is an increase in the level of competition among
the teams, the league has greatly improved in performance.

In addition to the National Super League sponsorship, Betika organizes tournaments for
grassroot football teams under its ‘Betika Na Community’ initiative. The ‘Betika Na
Community Initiative’ has now grown into a massive movement with huge following
across the country and the firm promised to make the event an annual event to recognize
different players and clubs.

  1. Assistant Referee of the Year
    • Irene MASHA – 2nd Runners-Up (100k)
    • Oliver LIME – Winner (250k)
    • Walter MARITIM – 1st Runners-Up (150k)
  2. Referee of the Year
    • Edwin BOBIYA – Winner (300k)
    • Lucy JUMA – 1st Runners-Up (200k)
    • Wycliffe ITOLONDO – 2nd Runners-Up (100k)
  3. Fair play team
    • Kibera Black Stars FC – Winner (300k)
  4. Young Player of the Year (Most Promising Player)
    • Alfred TANUI – Winner (300K)
    • Alvin OCHIENG – 2nd Runners-Up (100K)
    • Brian MICHIRA – 1st Runners-Up (200K)
  5. Defender of the Year
    • Chris WILUNDA – 2nd Runners-Up (100K)
    • Nichodemus MALIKA – 1st Runners-Up (200K)
    • Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner (300K)
  6. Midfielder of the Year
    • Antony GICHO – Winner 300K
    • Bonface KWEYU – 1st Runners-Up 200K
    • Brian MICHIRA – 2nd Runners-Up 100K
  7. Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper)
    Bonphas MUNYASA – Winner 400K
    Gedion OGWENO– 1st Runners-Up 250K
    Mayfair Business Centre | 3rd Floor | Parklands Road |
    P.O. Box 1145 – 00606, Nairobi, Kenya | Tel: 020 2 699 699 |
    Wilson MWANGI – 2nd Runners-Up 150K
  8. Golden Boot (Best Forward)
    • Cornelius JUMA – Winner 400K (16 goals)
    • Jackson OKETCH – 1st Runners-Up 200K (15 goals)
    • Samuel NDUNG’U – 1st Runners-Up 200K (15 goals)
  9. Coach of the Year
    • Ken Kenyatta – Winner 500K
    • Edward MANOAH – 1st Runners-Up 300K
    • Benedict SIMIYU – 2nd Runners-Up 150K
  10. Team of the Year
    • FC Talanta – Winner- 1M
  11. MVP of the year
    • Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner- 1M