SA’s Free State Stars open to signing Dennis Oliech

Phtoto File:Harambee Stars striker Dennis Oliech during a past match
South African Premier Soccer League (PSL) side Free State Stars coach Luc Eymael has said he is open to signing former Kenyan international Dennis Oliech should the striker impress in training.Oliech who last played for Harambee Stars on September 6, 2015 in a 2-1 loss to Zambia in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at Nyayo Stadium, started training with the side last Friday.Oliech has formerly enjoyed stints in Qatar, France and United Arab Emirates.
Another high profile Kenyan runner, said to have dominated world championships over the years, is embroiled in a doping scandal, Standard Sports has learnt.Although the news has yet to be made public by either Anti-Doping Agency of Kenya (Adak) or Athletics Kenya (AK), impeccable sources have suggested the star has tested positive for performance-enhancing drug erythropoietin (EPO) during out-of-competition testing.EPO is commonly used to boost the production of red blood cells and encourage more oxygen flow in the body.
Newly appointed Kenya Volleyball Federation (KVF) first vice chairman, Charles Nyaberi, has outlined his plans to revive volleyball glory in the country.Nyaberi, who is also Kenya National Sports Council (KNSC) treasurer, floored incumbent Martin Makokha after gunning 66 votes against Makokha’s 30 during the KVF national elections held in Nairobi over the weekend.

Mohamed Salah

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has won the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year.The Egyptian has enjoyed an incredible debut season at Anfield, scoring 43 times in all competitions.He was named PFA Player of the Year last month and has now scooped another individual prize from the FWA.
David de Gea has been named as Manchester United’s Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year for a record fourth time.It is the fourth time in five seasons the Spanish goalkeeper has won the award. He succeeds compatriot Ander Herrera, who won it last season.It means De Gea eclipses Cristiano Ronaldo, who won it on three occasions, in 2004, 2007 and 2008.